Buckeye in Bama

Rambling thoughts of a Yankee transplanted to the south.

So… I finally finished The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

I guess third time really is the charm. Or is it?  I have tried to read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson three times over the years. Once when it first came out, then another try a few years ago. I gave up each time about 50 pages or so into the book. Then the movie came out. Everyone I knew had either seen the movie OR read the book. However, I soon forgot about it and moved onto the other books in the pile that I was reading. I am easily distracted by other books.

A few months ago, I decided to purchase the book. I figured that if I carried it around in my bag long enough, I would eventually read it. I found a nice little paperback bookshop in Fairhope, AL called the Book Inn. It is an overcrowded shop teeming with paperbacks. I loved it! A place to browse for hours! I bought quite a few books that day, but I could not find this one, so I asked the nice ladies if they had it. Of course they had it! While waiting for one of them to get it, another lady came in and asked for the same book. Serendipitous, yes, I think so! She heard me talking to the ladies and said, “Where are you from? You are not from here.” I said, “Ohio”. She said, “So am I. I have not heard that accent in a while and it is nice to hear it again.” Accent, I don’t have an accent (I probably do, but I don’t hear it). I discovered that she was from Findlay, Ohio and we had a nice chat. It was great meeting someone from home.

Sorry, I digress… Back to the book. This purchase and chance meeting all took place in October and you are now reading this post in March. My plan to carry the book around worked. I have finally finished. Once, I got into the book, I liked it. The Swedish surnames and place names take a little getting used to, but once I found the rhythm of the book, I blazed right through. I liked the development of the characters and story line. What I did not like was the ending. Now, I have to get the next one. Isn’t that what always happens with a series! And no, I am not seeing the movie. Why ruin a good book with a movie. I have a policy of not seeing movies once I have read the book even IF Daniel Craig is in it!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Archaeology and Material Culture

The material world, broadly defined

Preservation in Pink

Historic preservation, coffee, community + pink flamingos

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

Carolyn's State of the Union

Books and Animals are my cup of tea..

myFranklin 4 News and Information

Franklin University Academic Information Services

Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Buckeye in Bama

Rambling thoughts of a Yankee transplanted to the south.

