Buckeye in Bama

Rambling thoughts of a Yankee transplanted to the south.

When Do You Unfriend an Friend

I have been struggling with unfriending a friend on Facebook. I unfriended a few people during the presidential elections because I got so tired of hearing their political opinions. I am struggling with this issue because I have known this person for a very long time. It would bother me quite a lot to unfriend them, but their posts are becoming increasingly right-wing crazy. I guess reformed h***-raisers like to get all high and mighty when they stop raising h***. They start pointing the finger of judgment at everyone else and not where it should be pointed back at them.

However, before everyone gets riled up about their right to an opinion, I want to say that I totally agree. We all have the right to our own opinion. The right to free speech is a constitutional right. What we do not have a right to do is step on other people’s opinions. Plus, I am not good with intolerance and stupidity. Don’t spout off facts before you have checked them out thoroughly. Do not believe everything you read because it is on the internet or appeared on Fox News or because your pastor told you so. Investigate everything! A lot of people are conned into believing things they are told because they are too busy to check things out for themselves. Follow up people! Do not be force-fed information.

AND before you criticize me for being a left-wing atheist, I am a Christian who likes to think for myself. I also appreciate other people’s opinions even if I do not agree with them except when given reasonable arguments upon which no follow-up will ever happen. I would follow-up when given reasonable doubt, why won’t you?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Archaeology and Material Culture

The material world, broadly defined

Preservation in Pink

Historic preservation, coffee, community + pink flamingos

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

Carolyn's State of the Union

Books and Animals are my cup of tea..

myFranklin 4 News and Information

Franklin University Academic Information Services

Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Buckeye in Bama

Rambling thoughts of a Yankee transplanted to the south.

