Buckeye in Bama

Rambling thoughts of a Yankee transplanted to the south.

Spread the Love People!

I know that it is Valentine’s Day. I am not big on this day. No, I am not a bitter, loveless person. I have been happily married for fifteen years. Yes, it is my second marriage, but I have been lucky enough to be married to two people who treated me quite well on Valentine’s Day. My dad always gave my sister and I nice gifts on Valentine’s Day, it was kind of his thing. I give my daughter’s special little gifts on Valentine’s Day. I just think the sentiment is carried a bit too far. The jewelry commercials give me a headache and enough with the sappiness. Not every woman wants a diamond necklace or bracelet or flowers for Valentine’s Day. Give me a good book, some gourmet coffee, or something else meaningful any day.

But, that is not really my point. There are many people out there who do not have anyone special today. They may have lost their someone special this year or are not in any type of relationship. Instead of buying for your “love”, try doing something nice for someone else who may need to know that you care about them. Shouldn’t we spread the “love” around? How about a nice card for someone who watches your children? Or the mail person? Or the bus driver who takes your kids home from school? You could always buy some chocolate, bake cookies, or just do something random for them. It might make their day.

Valentine’s Day should be about “love for everyone”. Not just romantic love. There are a lot of people who are single, hurting, or otherwise. Do something nice for everyone. It will make them and you feel good. That is what Valentine’s Day should be about.

Image

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Archaeology and Material Culture

The material world, broadly defined

Preservation in Pink

Historic preservation, coffee, community + pink flamingos

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

Carolyn's State of the Union

Books and Animals are my cup of tea..

myFranklin 4 News and Information

Franklin University Academic Information Services

Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Buckeye in Bama

Rambling thoughts of a Yankee transplanted to the south.

