Buckeye in Bama

Rambling thoughts of a Yankee transplanted to the south.

Finding Your Path

How do you know when have found your path? How do you know if you have picked the right job, degree, etc.? I have been pondering this question for sometime. I was rejected this past summer and fall by two universities to which I had applied. I knew about the first and forgot I had applied to the second. Fall was a busy time for me. I relocated for a job and my mind was elsewhere. Now, I am getting ready to apply again to two other schools. I wonder if I should switch careers entirely? Do something new?

How do you know if it is the right path? I am still trying to figure it out at almost forty-two. Do you settle for the path that seems to be the easiest? Do you give up and stay status quo? I have never been one for the easy path. I have always done things the hard way. I think I am just wired wrong. Some people have a passion in life that leads them where they need to go. I have never felt that passion. I have not had the opportunity to develop any because I have always done what was necessary and not frivolous, not that following your passion is frivolous. I would love to feel that way about something. I have always been nose-to-the-grindstone working all the time.

I do know that I want a doctorate degree. This much I have figured out. I would like to help people. In what way, I have not figured out yet. I need to get into a program that meets my intellectual standards, but will accept my credentials. But, I still wonder if it is the right thing to do… Knowing me, I will continue the path.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Archaeology and Material Culture

The material world, broadly defined

Preservation in Pink

Historic preservation, coffee, community + pink flamingos

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

Carolyn's State of the Union

Books and Animals are my cup of tea..

myFranklin 4 News and Information

Franklin University Academic Information Services

Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Buckeye in Bama

Rambling thoughts of a Yankee transplanted to the south.

