Buckeye in Bama

Rambling thoughts of a Yankee transplanted to the south.

Technology Overload

When is technology too much? How many email accounts do you really need going to one phone? How many games do you really need to play at once on your phone? Do I need to be tied to my phone 24 hours a day. I decided to do an assessment of my technology addictions after reading a line in a book from one of my favorite authors.

Whilst reading “Billiionaire Blend” by Cleo Coyle last night on a tablet, no less, a discussion from the book about how our addiction to technology can be worse than heroin caught my attention. How addicted am I to technology? I did not grow up with a cell phone glued to my fingers. Yes, I am that old! When I was in elementary school, we had one phone which was in the kitchen. It was avocado green in color, rotary dial, and had a long cord that stretched into the living room. Of course, we lived in a small cape cod house, so the cord could stretch through much of the house. Everyone used the same phone. I even remember my phone number. Now, I have a Samsung Galaxy, I refuse to be a slave to Apple (my opinion, not the the opinion of the world), plus I am awful with cell phones and kill them at regular intervals. This phone has four or more email accounts on it, plenty of games, more apps than I can possible need, and takes up way too much of my time. The only things it cannot do are the things I really need done like the laundry, dinner, and clean bathrooms!

I am constantly checking it for messages. It is an obsession. As someone who is Type A and touched with a bit of OCD (thank you Dad!), this cannot be a good thing. So, I am going to do a little experiment for the next month. I will keep my phone, I have two children and need to be in contact if the school would call, but I am going to minimize my technology contact that is not work related. Personal email will only be checked once in the morning and once at night. I will delete the email account app off of my phone and check it on the computer. This will eliminate the message checking on the phone since I do not get great internet service everywhere. I will turn my phone off at 9:00 every night. I have a land line, so people can call if they really need me. I will use my phone for what it is for, a music player!! I will get out and exercise. I will actually talk to people instead of texting everyone. Maybe this experiment will cut the cord, literally.

 

Stay tuned for developments…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Archaeology and Material Culture

The material world, broadly defined

Preservation in Pink

Historic preservation, coffee, community + pink flamingos

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

Carolyn's State of the Union

Books and Animals are my cup of tea..

myFranklin 4 News and Information

Franklin University Academic Information Services

Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Buckeye in Bama

Rambling thoughts of a Yankee transplanted to the south.

