Buckeye in Bama

Rambling thoughts of a Yankee transplanted to the south.

Called Out By a Ten-Year Old

Last night, my youngest daughter decided to have a discussion with me. She had a laundry list of things that I was not doing right with my oldest daughter, her sister First and foremost was that I am not very nice to her (the oldest) and I am too hard on her (the oldest).

To give you all some background, my oldest daughter and I are very different people. She is my type B, nothing bothers me, happy girl. I am a type A, overachiever, workaholic, etc. I feel it is my job as a parent to push her when she needs it. Maybe I am guilty of being to pushy, and I probably am. I just want the best for her. She has been through so much including bullying and the mean girls in school. She has finally found her niche in band. I do not want her to lose momentum. She also is one of the nicest teens I know. She actually cares about other people. She is a good friend and listener. I could not have asked for a better child. We just push each other’s buttons.

However, getting the “talk” from a ten-year old was an eye opener. My youngest and I are good buddies. She is a lot like me which does not bode well for her. Haha!! I did take it to heart. I need to let my oldest daughter breathe and be her own person. It will take time and baby steps, but I am working on it. The fact that she is a teenager is not helping either, but I have to trust that she has listened to us and will do the right thing. This parenting thing would be a lot easier if I had a personalized manual for each kid!!

 

20131110_144027

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Archaeology and Material Culture

The material world, broadly defined

Preservation in Pink

Historic preservation, coffee, community + pink flamingos

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

Carolyn's State of the Union

Books and Animals are my cup of tea..

myFranklin 4 News and Information

Franklin University Academic Information Services

Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Buckeye in Bama

Rambling thoughts of a Yankee transplanted to the south.

