Buckeye in Bama

Rambling thoughts of a Yankee transplanted to the south.

Ugh!! People

I do not usually get up on my soapbox… OK maybe I do sometimes and since this blog is mine, I am going to do it here. I read a blog today, the Annoyed Librarian (Library Journal), and she was commenting on the response to an article. It was written by this guy in Canada, who took a list from Forbes about the lowest tech and stress jobs, and then added his two cents worth. Here is the link in case you want to peruse it yourself (http://www.montrealgazette.com/opinion/Opinion+Technology+supposed+simplify+lives+hasn/9352002/story.html)

He suggests that if you want a low tech and low stress job, you should see if one of these jobs works for you. Librarian made the list. I am a librarian and my job is not low tech, nor is it low stress. Ask any librarian, we are constantly keeping up with new technology. Ask anyone who has ever worked in customer service. Some days you cannot please anyone and some days you can. I am not saying that I do not like my job because I do. I love being a librarian. I like being the keeper of the information.

I also never stop being a librarian. When people find out that you are a librarian, they like to ask you stuff, lots of stuff about everything. The other day as I was getting my hair cut, the young girl was talking about migraines (by the way, hair stylist made the list too). She needed to find alternative methods and a new doctor. I recommended a website to her where she can search for doctors who specialize in this kind of treatment. The last time I got a massage, I gave recommendations to the masseuse for website design/builder resources. I enjoy sharing my knowledge, but I got this knowledge by reading and constantly updating my information knowledge base.

OK, I will get off the soapbox now with this last comment. Everyone has some type of stress in their job. At least I think they do. We may not all be high tech, but there is a place and job for everyone in the world. Criticizing them isn’t very nice.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Archaeology and Material Culture

The material world, broadly defined

Preservation in Pink

Historic preservation, coffee, community + pink flamingos

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

Carolyn's State of the Union

Books and Animals are my cup of tea..

myFranklin 4 News and Information

Franklin University Academic Information Services

Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Buckeye in Bama

Rambling thoughts of a Yankee transplanted to the south.

