Buckeye in Bama

Rambling thoughts of a Yankee transplanted to the south.

Kids and growing up

This morning my youngest daughter climbed onto my back while I was still in bed. She used to do this all the time when she was little. I called her the “Koala Baby” because she often would climb on my back in the middle of the night. I would wake up with her sound asleep on my back. I would stay put and just listen to her breathing. She was so calm and peaceful. Now, she is ten and weighs a lot more than she did back then. She still sleeps with the same calm and peacefulness. It seems as though she still needs the closeness and to be near me. I cannot say I mind all that much although sometimes it is hard to breathe and she is getting so tall. Her feet touch mine now. I will miss the day she does not do it anymore.

I try to not be melancholy about my girls growing up. They are becoming nice young ladies, but I will miss them when they are grown. Hopefully, I will have grandchildren and they will want to be “Koala babies”.

64075_small

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Archaeology and Material Culture

The material world, broadly defined

Preservation in Pink

Historic preservation, coffee, community + pink flamingos

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

Carolyn's State of the Union

Books and Animals are my cup of tea..

myFranklin 4 News and Information

Franklin University Academic Information Services

Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Buckeye in Bama

Rambling thoughts of a Yankee transplanted to the south.

